Status after the first week

As written in the original post I started monday with meditation in the train, and running and blogging in the evening.

Tuesday i didn’t get up at 4:30 to do my morning exercises. I simply went to bed too late monday night. It is hard to go to bed as early as 22:00when you are used stay up a couple of hours more….

I did better tuesday night and wednesday and thursday I did get up at 4:30for a half hour training session. I did my 20 minutes of zen-meditation at the start of the train ride. My wednesday run was moved to thursday, so tuesday and wednesday I worked on my project and thursday I did an 8km run. So these two days I did everything I had planned.

Friday was different. I had to be at work early and I also had to be onsite in the evening/night due to some upgrades to the production environmemt. I might not be home until 6 saturday morningso I decided that this day was out of the program (I had to take the car to work, so no meditation, and I would probably eat something ‘unhealthy’ to keep my energy up all day and night). This is of corse not ideal, but I think it is better to take the day out of the program beforehand, and not experience a failure to comply with the rules.

The other days I have managed to stay away from candy and cake, and I also have eaten sensibly. Simply going for more greens, and eating a little less (actually stopping when not hungry anymore).

Between friday and saturday I got 4 hours of sleep, then went to my brother in laws birthday party – resulting in too little sleep and a bit too much alcohol – not very drunk, but definitely not able to drive. This meant sunday was a very tired day, and my evening run was one of the worst in a long time. That can teach me to respect how much sleep I need. The lack of sleep also ment that I chose to skip training monday morning and get the extra 30 minutes of sleep.

Part of what I want to do is to lose weight, but I don’t own a scale, so right now I am just going by the feel of it. I don’t know if I have lost some weight already, but it feels that way.  The small amount of training I do in the morning makes med feel more ‘rank’ and slimmer, though I probably haven’t lost any weight yet. It simply feels good. I am contemplating getting both a scale and a ‘pedometer’ from fitbit.com, so I can follow the progress. The scale from fitbit also measures fat-mass, which is something that is also very interesting to follow. I believe it will be motivating to follow progress.

About Lund

Owner of iCodeIT, a software consulting company. I am primarily working the .NET development and architecture.
This entry was posted in Do more, Health, Life Quality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Status after the first week

  1. Pingback: Do more, sleep more, feel better: Status after the three weeks. | iCodeIT

Leave a Reply

